Owl Always Love You!

Standard
Owl Always Love You!

Okay, so when I found this on Pinterest,

I knew exactly what I would be making for my Baby girl’s Valentines Gift. You’ve already seen what I made for my other 2 kids here, but since Elissa is too small for us to know her personality, she needed something a little extra special… so I made this,

baby valentine gift

"Owl Always Love You"

 

Isn’t it freakin’ cute?!  I think so!!  Here’s how I made it:

found a board in my stash, gave it a coat of brown, and a coat of yellow (Martha Stewarts Cornbread)...

 

...made my words on picnik.com, printed it out....

 

.. did some light sanding, and used "Distress Ink" over the whole board to give it a distressed look, cuz I was feeling kinda lazy and didn't feel like doing so much sanding!...

And this is when I couldn’t find the camera, and I feel so bad!  I hope you can understand what I did next.  I first googled different owls, and as owls are huge right now in decor, a few different choices were easy to find.

I picked one I thought would be easiest to copy.  I drew the owl out on brown craft paper, free hand.

I then cut out each part of the owl, example, the wings, the body, the eyes etc, and used those as templates for the fabric.

I still have tons of fabric left over from when I decorated my baby girl’s room, I traced the brown paper templates onto the fabrics, and cut them out.

 

owl theme

...placed everything on the board to see where it fit best...

...cut out the words, and placed them on to fit...

I had already coloured the back of the words in pencil, and when the words were placed on, I traced them with a pen, tranferring the words onto the board.  I painted them in black.  (To see my transfer method in a different example, see here)

 

...and piece by piece, I modge podged each layer of the picture on...

 

... I finished off the board with 3 top layers of Modge Podge, and ta-da!

 

baby valentine gift

"Owl Always Love You"

 

Let me know what you think!  I’d love to hear from you!

xo, Leanne

I’m partying here!

17 responses »

  1. Pingback: An Award, 7 Things, and Some Great Links | ReStitch Me

  2. Absolutely adorable! And such a special gift for your daughter. I also love owls and all of the owl things out there lately… and have even done my own owl drawing recently too. I was instantly drawn to your sign and just love that yellow!

Leave a comment