Bird Mobile – Done!

Standard

Here it is…as cute as can be!!

Bird Mobile

Baby girl, loving her new birds!

This project was definitely a learning experience for me… for anyone who knows how to handle a needle and thread, I’m sure you would have had a few good laughs watching me!  I even needed to recruit my husband’s help a couple of times!  …his mom is a Home Ec teacher, that a good excuse, right?!  Anyways, I’m happy with the way it turned out, and baby girl is thrilled watching her birds spin around with the music… which is why I attached the branches to her original mobile, rather than how I saw it in the original picture.

I’ll add a few more pictures of her room… I wish I had pictures of this room when we first bought this house – it was nasty!  Close your eyes and imagine falling ceiling tiles, stinky carpet half way up the outside walls, plywood for the inside walls… when we first moved in, we used this room as our “storage shed”!  it held our lawn mower, tools, weed eater, and all that!  When I decided to start my spa business, we fixed it up and added a sink, which is still in here – SO useful with a new baby!!

entering baby girl's room

I love how calm her room is, and the birds symbolize her peaceful spirit so well.

Those bookend owls were the reason I had leftover fabric and was inspired to make her mobile with the left overs.  I had seen owls like these on “Etsy” somewhere, but since they were over my budget, I rounded up a Facebook friend to stitch them up for me.  I LOVE them!

The adorable bedding was made by my husband’s cousin’s wife.  I LOVED it when I saw it on her facebook page, and as soon as the news of my pregnancy was out, I ordered from her… I love how the whole room has been planned around this bedding.

Since this bedroom doesn’t have a closet, I needed to get a little creative, and remembered this very ugly brown “thing” we had picked up at IKEA… It was seriously on sale, and we thought it would be useful, until we brought it home and found that it wasn’t at all… until now.  A coat of white paint, and a curtain, and ta-da, the perfect wardrobe.  It fit perfectly in this space.  The change table was a hand me down when I was pregnant with my son, 7 1/2 years ago (and it was a hand me down to the people we got it from!).  I love this old thing.  It too needed a fresh coat of paint, plus a new color on the handles… a fluffy white towel covers up the ratty change mattress underneath, and the seamstress threw in a change pad to match the room.  Perfect.

I swear, every baby room should have a sink!  She even still fits in it for her baths!  🙂

Bird Mobile

Thanks for reading!

This post has been linked to:

Tip Junkie handmade projects

2 responses »

    • Thanks Kristy! The sink was one of those things that was there already anyways, so why not leave it?! And I LOVE it!

      I checked out your nursery, and it is GORGEOUS! (so are your babies, by the way!) I love your use of space, and LOVE the fabrics you used for your bedding! Very nice!!

Leave a comment