Ugly 70’s Brown

Standard
Ugly 70’s Brown

Wow, we are having an absolutely gorgeous sunny and warm day here!  Too bad I’m stuck inside cleaning house, doing laundry, and going grocery shopping after lunch 😦

A few “business things” first – if you haven’t checked out my linky party yesterday, please do!!  Find it here.  Anyone can participate, and we would LOVE for more bloggers to link up and show off your work!  I am co-hosting with 2 other bloggers, and would love to have you all join the party!

Next, many bloggers have used Google Friend Connect on their blogs, for followers to follow them that way… but Google friend connect has decided to drop themselves for most blog hosting sites… meaning many bloggers are losing many followers.  This doesn’t affect me at all, however I have signed up with the new alternative, Linky Followers.  You can now find it on my sidebar as a following option.  This is a really cool little setup for everyone to use, you can categorize and organize all the blogs you love to read, and find them all in one spot.  And of course it’s free for everyone to use!

So, I have mentioned my Master bedroom a few times in the past… just before Christmas we gave it a little facelift.  I forgot to take before pictures, but it was very b.o.r.i.n.g.  Very brown and monochromatic.  I wanted bright, cheery, and beachy… and used this for my inspiration:

Gorgeous, right?!  (source)

So after taking forever  to choose the right shade of turquoise (the Rainwash color in this photo was just too bright for our room), I finally settled on Wythe Blue by Benjamin Moore.  I loved it when it went on, and still love it now…. but something is wrong with the room… so I haven’t talked about it since.  But today, I will share what I have so far with you!

First, we really need a headboard for the bed.  I have a fe ideas in mind, but haven’t gotten any hubby commitment yet (and nned it, because he’d be doing the construction!)

Why are the lights off?  Because the chandelier was another part of the makeover… I bought it like this for $5, and changed it from this,

chandelier "before"

to this,

chandelier "after"

I painted the whole thing with white paint, and love the way it turned out, until the light goes on, and looks like this,

Ug.  I could replace the shades with some white fabric ones, but can’t find the right white or a shape that I like.  Any advice??  Please??

Not to mention it’s still hanging by a zapstrap,

Family members, please let my big brother know I’ve blogged about it now!  Time for him to come and finish the job he started!!  😉

Plus, my old ratty mirror is still waiting for a frame to be built, by the pine waiting patiently behind it…

But that’s not the worst of it.  I’ve been trying to ignore it, but when my friends came over at Christmas time, they made me admit it…(what are best friends for anyways?!)  these ugly brown doors and trim have to go…

example 1

example 2

example 3

The idea of painting all these doors (because you know I couldn’t just do my room, then I’d also have to do all the other doors in the hall, and closet doors in the other bedrooms) and all the trim (again, same problem) is all just so daunting to me…. but now I can’t enter my room without it staring me in the face.  😦  I called one of those friends the other day, and what was she doing??  Painting all her doors white.  “It’s not that hard, Leanne!”  Hmmph.  I guess I’ll have to get started on it one of these days!

xo, Leanne

8 responses »

  1. Funny, I’m not a decorator by any stretch of the imagination, but my first thought was the same as your friends…..get rid of the brown! But do love what you’ve done!!!!

      • I’ve been secretly watching it and I quite enjoy it… your followers really get the opportunity to know the you I am so lucky to know.

      • Awwww… you are the best! …writing a blog is definitely putting myself out-there… I see random people who know random things about me, and I slowly start to clue in they read my blog! LOL

Leave a comment