My 10 Secrets in a 10 day challenge

Standard

Okay, so the other day I came across a wonderful blog, called Shaped By Grace.  She had on there a “10 Day You Challenge”.  After reading her first posting on it, I was inspired to do this too.  (If you would like to read her post, and I do recommend you check out her blog, here is the link).  I won’t do it 10 days in a row, I’ll tell you that now!  🙂  I’m thinking more like 10 weeks in a row!

Why am I doing this?  You see, I’ve mentioned before that I’m not crazy about our house.  It was supposed to be a 5 year plan, a stepping stone to something bigger and better (it’s now been almost 9 years!).  Over the years our house has doubled in value, but in the meantime, we have had 3 children and made the decision to live on a single income… meaning this is the home we can afford, therefore we must stay here.

Since closing my business and becoming a stay at home mom, I have been brainstorming over many different things:  what will I want to do when I can go back to work in 4 – 5 years?, what am I passionate about?, why don’t I like the style of our home?, and you know the Oprah saying, your home is a reflection of who you are… but I didn’t feel that in our home…why not? how can I change that?  what is my style??  So I started paying more attention when I was out and about (shopping!) and tried to pay attention to what gets me excited, what do I love… and that’s when I found VINTAGE… especially vintage furniture, shabby chic, distressed items, quotes, and the colors apple green and turquoise, yellow, and this certain shade of blue.  Our home had none of these things (except for a yellow kitchen and a blue dining room, strangely my favorite painted rooms in our home!).   Then after finding the blog world, I learned how I could make these things, and incorporate them into our home (way cheaper than buying everything and replacing what we already have!)

I’m loving this road that I’m on, and along with figuring out how to make our home more functional in 2012, I hope to discover more of my passions…. which, long story made….well, long, is where this challenge comes in!  It makes me a little nervous, I hope I don’t say anything I’ll regret but here I go,with challenge #1, 10 secrets about me.

In no particular order…

1.  I don’t remember the last time I shave my legs.  I always do in the summer, but I think this winter is my worst ever.  Can I blame it on having had my third baby recently??

2.  I am addicted chocolate.  I mean seriously addicted.  Most people think I’m joking, but I’m not.  I think about it, and drool about it, stop to stare at it in the grocery store… it got really bad over the last couple months with the headaches I’ve been having; having a headache makes me want chocolate.  Chocolate makes my headache worse.  This makes my craving for chocolate worse.  Bad.  In my head, it’s like having a conversation with my 3-year-old.  Here is an example of one today:  “anna, go pee, and then we need to go.”  “lollipop?”  “no Anna, I already said no.  Now hurry to the bathroom so we can go.”  “lollipop?”  You get the picture.  Except my brain is thinking:  “gotta do the dishes.  Chocolate?  Now need to feed the baby.  Chocolate?”

3.  I don’t want to get back into Esthetics when I’m ready to go back to work.  I’m so sorry… I can hear some of my old clients gasp as they read this.  I apologize to you, but I think you need to know it!  🙂  When I do go back to work, I want a boss, I want school time hours, I want to not worry about work when I’m at home with the family, I want a steady paycheck and vacation pay!

4.  I sneak candy when the kids aren’t watching.  That’s why I love the fact that our kitchen is closed off… most people like open concept.  Not me, I like sneaking a little treat when the conversations about lollipops or dinosaurs are getting to me.

5.  I’m not really great with people “just stopping by”.  Unless it’s my parents, or my sister, or even my in-laws are very forgiving, but once I am at home, my not-so-flattering-sweats come on, my hair goes up, and I don’t look so pretty anymore.  And our home is always in such a constant state of chaos, that I like to tidy even a little before someone comes over!   Yesterday a neighbor man knocked on the door to talk, and I had a load of laundry in one arm, a baby in the other, but boy was I thankful that was covering me up, cuz I was wearing my worst sweat-wear ever!

6.  I have no clue about name brands.  This is no secret to those who know me, I guess, but really, I have no clue.  Many people in my life are very knowledgeable about clothing name brands, and I look at them with a blank look.  Most people expect that with the life I’ve had with first as a flight attendant, and then attending a very upscale esthetics school in Vancouver and working in the industry for 8 years, going to amazing trade shows etc, that I would be in the know…. I’m not.

7.  I can’t remember all the places I’ve travelled to.  Lame right?  I’m not trying to sound snobby at all, but when I worked as a flight attendant, our hours were so gruelling and tiring, I really don’t remember all the places I’ve been.  For example, I know I’ve been to Germany.  I know we went for a walk, ate at a great cafe and drank great bear, saw a crazy lady dressed in lace and nothing underneath, but I have no idea what city I was in.

8.  I sneak quiet time.  When my hubby can watch the girls while I go to pick up Jordan from school, I leave early, and take a yummy snack and a magazine, to have some enjoyable quiet time by myself while I wait in the lineup of vehicles.  the secret?  He doesn’t realize I left early. (as far as I know, he also doesn’t read my blog often, so don’t tell him, k?  🙂  )  I know he wouldn’t mind, it’s just what I need to do.

9.  I hate doing dishes.  I always have.  Doing them is of course necessary when you have 5 people in the house, but I will clean the whole house, and leave the kitchen, and not mind, because I can’t see it anyways unless I go in there.  Unless I’m really in the zone, I will usually leave the dishes till all the countertops are full.

10.  I have always told my family that I don’t fart.  My kids believe me, because they have never caught me.  It’s not true.  I do fart.

There you have it!  I can hear my brother-in-law laughing out loud right now, even though he hasn’t read this yet, I know he will, and I know he will love #10.  Don’t tell my kids, okay M??

Thanks for reading!  Let me know in the comments section if you have a secret you would like to share with me, I would love to read them!!  Let me get to know my readers better!

Have a great night and a fabulous weekend!

I’m partying here.

12 responses »

  1. hee hee – what a terrific post! I applaud you for your honesty (and can identify with each one!). Thank you for dropping by my blog; it sounds like you and I have similar tastes: vintage furniture and apple green & turquoise 🙂

  2. I love this post!! I came over from a party on one of your craft posts and have loved everything I’ve read…I just keep clicking on new links.

    I too am not happy with my house. At one point it reflected me, but now…I am not all that sure who me is and what I like anymore…

    I am following with Linky and I really think I might take on this 10 Challenge, for me if nothing else…

    Thank You,
    Alisha

Leave a comment